Just football

Mohamed Salah named FWA Footballer of the Year

Liverpool star Mohamed Salah has been named the Football Writers’ Association player of the year.

Salah, 25, has enjoyed a sensational season which has seen him score 42 goals in all competitions and lead the race for the Premier League golden boot.

The former Chelsea player was named the PFA Player of the Year earlier this month, beat Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne and Tottenham Hotspur’s Harry Kane to the award, which is decided upon by the media and will be given out during a reception in London on May 10.

The Egypt international joined Liverpool over the summer from Roma for a fee of £35 million and has formed a good partnership with Sadio Mane and Roberto Firmino in attack. 

Patrick Barclay, FWA Chairman, said: “It’s been the tightest call since 1968/69, when there was a dead heat between Tony Book of Manchester City and Derby’s Dave Mackay.

“Right up to the last week or so we thought it might happen again, so strong was the support for Kevin de Bruyne, but Mo Salah’s relentless match-winning form, exemplified by his two great goals against Roma, seems to have swung the vote by a very narrow margin.

“What a race it has been between two players who, in a relatively short time, have reached genuine world class. But Mo Salah is the worthiest of winners. He is also the first African to receive the award and we congratulate him on a magnificent season.”

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: