Just football

England announce 23-man World Cup squad

England have released their 23-man squad for this summer’s World Cup in Russia.

England will begin their Group G campaign against Tunisia on June 18, before fixtures against Panama on June 24 and Belgium on June 28.

Former first-choice goalkeeper Hart has been dropped from the squad following poor form at West Ham for Burnley’s Nick Pope , while Arsenal midfielder Wilshere has also been omitted from the side that will travel to Russia.

Tottenham starlet Harry Kane will once again lead the England line with support from Jamie Vardy, Danny Welbeck and Marcus Rashford , at the expense of Bournemouth’s Jermain Defoe.

Lallana joins goalkeeper Tom Heaton, Lewis Cook, Jake Livermore and James Tarkowski on the stand-by list.

There is a surprise call for uncapped defender Trent Alexander-Arnold, who has played an important role in Liverpool’s run to the Champions League final. Chelsea’s Gary Cahill is also included after Southgate decided not to use him in any of England’s last five matches.

“The first call up for Trent Alexander-Arnold is well deserved. When we pick young players, it’s not just because they are young, it’s because their performances deserve it,” said Southgate. 

England manager Gareth Southgate

“We’ve also had a couple of injuries with Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain and Joe Gomez, which is a huge blow for them personally and disappointing for us.”

England boss Gareth Southgate has indicated he wanted to release his full squad now so the players are not left worrying over whether or not they will make it to the tournament.

England will face Nigeria and Costa Rica in warm-up matches before kicking off their World Cup campaign against Tunisia on 18th June.


Goalkeepers: Jack Butland (Stoke), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley).

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Kyle Walker, John Stones (Manchester City), Harry Maguire (Leicester), Kieran Trippier, Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Phil Jones, Ashley Young (Manchester United).

Midfielders: Eric Dier, Dele Alli (both Tottenham Hotspur), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Fabian Delph (Manchester City), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea).

Forwards: Jamie Vardy (Leicester), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal) Harry Kane (Tottenham).

Standby: Tom Heaton, James Tarkowski (Burnley), Lewis Cook (Bournemouth), Jake Livermore (West Brom) and Adam Lallana (Liverpool).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: