Just football

Cristiano Ronaldo beats Lionel Messi and Neymar to win fifth Ballon d’Or

Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo has been awarded the 2107 Ballon d’Or beating Lionel Messi and Neymar to win the gong.

Ronaldo, who is now level with Messi on five Ballon d’Ors, helped Madrid to a third Champion League crown in four seasons and a first LaLiga title in five years.

The 2017 winner was unveiled in a dramatic video which slowly zoomed in on a sparkling Eiffel Tower to reveal Ronaldo standing on the podium and holding up the trophy.

Ronaldo and Messi have dominated the award over the past decade, sharing it for the past 10 seasons ever since AC Milan’s Brazilian midfielder Kaka won ahead of the pair at the 2007 ceremony.

Messi’s Ballon d’Ors came in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015 while Ronaldo has been more dominant in recent seasons by winning four of the last five awards to add to his 2008 triumph.

“This is something I look forward to every year,” he said, after receiving the award on the Eiffel Tower in Paris.

“Thanks to my Real Madrid team-mates. And I want to thank the rest of the people who helped me reach this level.”


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: